## **Resource A:** Proof of tobacco retailer training document

This document verifies the employee has received training and understands the state laws and store's policy regarding tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, and nicotine products. It can be used to confirm training in a civil hearing process, as per <u>Utah Code § 26B-7-</u>519. It can also be adapted to meet your store's specific needs and policies.

## Proof of tobacco retailer training document

I understand the law prohibits the sale of tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, and nicotine products to individuals younger than 21 years of age. I have reviewed the retailer education guide regarding the sale of tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, and nicotine products to individuals younger than 21 years of age and understand that selling to individuals younger than 21 years of age will result in an infraction and fine not exceeding \$1,000; or compensatory service on the first violation and a Class C misdemeanor and fine not exceeding \$2,000; or compensatory service, on any subsequent violation.

I further understand that retailers are responsible to know and comply with local, state, and federal laws and regulations.

I agree to the following laws and company policies about the sale of tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, and nicotine products: (Please initial in each space provided.)

I will not sell tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, nicotine products, or tobacco paraphernalia to anyone younger than 21.

\_\_\_\_\_ If the person appears to be younger than 27 years of age, I will ask for ID. If there is any doubt about the person's age, I will not make the sale.

\_\_\_\_\_I will not knowingly sell tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, or tobacco paraphernalia to any adult for use by individuals younger than the legal age. If I think this is happening, I will not make the sale.

\_\_\_\_\_I agree to know and comply with local, state, and federal laws and regulations.

In turn, management agrees to support my judgment in not making sales in any of the above cases.

I certify that I was trained on the date listed below, and that the training included the following components:

- A clear explanation of Utah tobacco laws and rules
- A clear definition of what constitutes a tobacco product, an electronic cigarette product, and a nicotine product
- The legal age for purchase
- Instruction on when and how to ask for ID
- Instruction on performing age ID checks for any customer who appears to be younger than 27 years of age
- Instruction on how to detect a false ID
- Instruction on how and when to refuse a sale
- Instruction on how to refuse a sale when an adult clearly attempts to buy for an individual younger than 21 years of age
- The consequences of an illegal sale and not following all Utah tobacco laws and rules

Employee's signature	Employee's name (print)	Date
Store manager's signature	Store manager's name (print)	Date

This agreement will be maintained in our personnel file as part of your permanent employee record. This page may be reproduced in any form without prior permission.