Tobacco use is one of the main causes of disease, death, and suffering in Utah. In addition to its considerable impact on the health of Utahns, tobacco use poses a significant economic burden.

Preventing those younger than 21 years of age from using tobacco products is critical since most tobacco addictions begin before that age.

About ninety-five percent of adult smokers begin smoking before they turn 21 – and tobacco retailers can help drive that number down by preventing access to tobacco and nicotine products. Research shows the following statistics in Utah:

  • 4,300 Utah high school students smoke cigarettes.

  • More than 70% of Utah youth who tried tobacco started with vape products.

  • 1,340 Utahns die each year as a result of cigarette smoking.

  • $542 million in smoking-related health care costs are incurred in Utah each year.

  • $294 million is lost due to lost worker productivity each year.

The benefits for retailers complying with Utah’s tobacco laws and administrative rules include:

  • Employees and owners won’t get fined, or be charged with a crime.

  • Employees and owners may gain the respect of the community.

  • Employees and owners may be rewarded by their local health department or manager.

  • Employees and owners may help reduce the number of youth who may become addicted to tobacco.

  • Fewer individuals younger than 21 will target tobacco retailers for illegal purchases.

The information on this site:
  • is an overview of Utah’s tobacco related laws and does not contain all of the tobacco regulations your business may need to comply with;

  • is for educational purposes only and does not represent legal advice.

Other tobacco regulations:

Although the Utah Department of Health and Human Services will make every effort to ensure this guidance remains current, the department does not represent that every reference to a statute or regulation is up-to-date. Please consult with legal counsel if there are questions about a specific set of circumstances and how to comply with the law.

Way to Quit

More than 70% of Utah smokers plan to quit smoking within a year. Tobacco users are more likely to quit for good when they use proven counseling programs and/or quit medications.

Way to Quit (waytoquit.org) offers free help to Utah residents in finding their best way to quit. Individuals can do this through:
  • Online coaching: waytoquit.org;

  • Telephone-based counseling through the Utah Tobacco Quit Line: 1.800.QUIT.NOW;

  • Text message coaching: by texting START to 36072.

My Life My Quit is a vaping/tobacco cessation service specially designed to assist Utah teens age 13 to 17. Starting May 1, 2024, teens no longer need parental consent to use coaching services. Nicotine Replacement Therapy (NRT) is not provided to youth. More information can be found at MyLifeMyQuit.org.

A little inspiration goes a long way. If you’re somebody who has quit using tobacco products, help inspire others to do the same by sharing your quit story here: https://waytoquit.org/share-your-quit/.


Any information submitted on this website may be shared with other government entities as permitted by law, including local health departments, for the purposes of investigation and enforcement.